Simple Pleasures

I would like to take a moment to reflect on a few things I find utterly delightful, even though they have nothing to do with crafting, cooking, homemaking, etc.

Raking. I openly admit to enjoying manual labor. Moreover, there’s nothing quite so gratifying as being outside on a a lovely fall day raking leaves with your family. Just one more reason to love this season. 

Operation Christmas Child. I did this with MOPS last year, so I decided we’d do it as a family this year. I thoroughly enjoyed this project, and I was happy about involving Abram this go ’round–even though he just wanted to play with everything. It’s never too early to start teaching a child to understand and value Christian charity.

This Stack of Books. “Nourishing Traditions,” a pile of Wendell Berry, the best of Louisa May Alcott, and “A Storm for Swords.” Anyone who knows me knows there just ain’t no way I’m making it through that stack of books in the next month. But maybe in the next 12+.


 

 

 

 

 

 

Cathedral Concerts: Vienna Boys Choir. The Cathedral Basilica of St. Louis is easily one of my top five St. Louis favorites. Seeing the Vienna Boys Choir there? Incredible.

 

Pumpkin Cream Cheese Pie. Spicy and creamy, with homemade crust, freshly whipped cream + nutmeg, and toasted walnuts. Holycowthat’sgood.

3 thoughts on “Simple Pleasures

  1. I love that you decided to venture outside of your traditional blog parameters — though I think a lot of those things can actually be classified as “homemaking” — if your definition of homemaking extends beyond “housekeeping.” (Mine certainly does, probably because I’m a terrible housekeeper! But I like to think that making a home is more about keeping our house filled with warmth, light, activity, creativity, fun, joy, etc. than keeping it spotless!)

    I’ve seen so many people doing Operation Christmas Child, I really have to do that with Adeline.

Leave a Reply

