Get Your Craft On: Apple Tartlets

My sister and her girls made these sweet little apple tartlets! (Well, I think Amy made an actual pie, and the girls made tartlets.) I only wish I could’ve been there to try some! And gosh, aren’t these gals incredibly adorable?!

1. Whip up some pie crust dough. Here’s the recipe for single-crust pie dough from my Better Homes & Gardens Cookbook:
  • 1-1/4 c. all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/3 c. shortening
  • 4 to 5 tablespoons cold water

In a medium mixing bowl stir together flour and salt. Using a pastry blender, cut in shortening until pieces are the size of small peas. Sprinkle 1 tablespoon of the water over part of mixture, then gently toss with a fork. Push moistened dough to side of the bowl. Repeat, using 1 tablespoon of water at a time, until all is moistened.

2. Form dough into small, tartlet-sized balls. Roll dough out between two sheets of wax paper. Press dough into tartlet pans. Fill with peeled, cored, quartered or chopped apples. Sprinkle with sugar, cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg. Top with more dough.

3. Bake at 375 degrees for about 25 minutes or until crust is golden. Cool and serve with vanilla ice cream. Silverware optional.

One thought on “Get Your Craft On: Apple Tartlets

  1. The girls are adorable!!! I LOVE homemade apple pie – especially with vanilla-cinnamon ice cream!!!! Ooh La La – I now have a craving for it!!!! Amy – I love your cute hair cut. Glad to know my cousins are crafty!!! I love being crafty too.

Leave a Reply

