Bread & Butter

Finally made butter with some of our raw cream, and I must say… Oh, my. Have you ever seen butter this yellow?

I started out “churning” the butter in my blender, a la these instructions, but that proved disastrous when the blades kept spinning but the butter wasn’t moving. So I poured the mess into a metal bowl and finished it off with my hand mixer. That was my mom’s idea from the get-go. Why do I ever question her infinite wisdom?

After the butter had been beaten and washed with ice water–and the buttermilk pressed out and reserved–I added a pinch of sea salt, though a smidgen would have sufficed. We immediately tested it out on multigrain toast from our farmer’s wife and my own apple bread. I could definitely get used to this. But I will inevitably be too busy to make butter every week, so thank God for Kerrygold Pure Irish Butter.

Apple Bread

  • 1 beaten egg (preferably fresh from your local farmer… or hen house!)
  • 1 cup sugar (I used 1/2 c. evaporated cane juice sugar & 1/2 c. date sugar)
  • 1/4 cup walnut oil (You could use melted butter or coconut oil, but you may not use vegetable or canola oil. Ever.)
  • 1 1/2 cups peeled, shredded apple (about 3 medium)
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour (I used organic sprouted whole wheat flour)

In a medium bowl, stir together egg, sugar, oil and apple. Stir in dry ingredients one at a time in order given. Spoon into a greased loaf pan and bake at 350 degrees for 50-55 minutes.

2 thoughts on “Bread & Butter

  1. Mmm, can you really find raw butter at the store? Do you sprout your own wheat or can you also buy sprouted flour at the store? It is sometimes so much easier to find whole foods in the city (ironically). Love those measuring spoons. Heirlooms?

    • raw butter, no. but cultured, grass-fed butter from Ireland? strangely, yes! sooo good. we can get sprouted whole wheat flour from whole foods and sprouted whole wheat bread from trader joes. it is convenient to be able to buy this stuff at the grocery whenever i want, but i’d still rather live in the middle of nowhere.

Leave a Reply

