Scenes from the Kitchen

We’ve been particularly busy in our kitchen as of late, preserving, baking, cooking, and cleaning it all up afterwards! Here are a few scenes from our kitchen from the last couple months.

Swimming in produce? Preserve it! I’m not sure why it never dawned on me prior to reading Folks, This Ain’t Normal that we should can/freeze/dry produce while it is in abundance for the express purpose of feeding ourselves during the winter months. Duh! I can’t believed I ever complained about having too many tomatoes. First, I blanched and froze our sweetcorn and green beans. I even got Abram to shuck a couple ears! It is, of course, an ongoing process. We still have loads more in the fridge to do.


Next I canned several jars of pickles, a perfect way to use up all those darn cucumbers! I even fermented one jar, but I’m a little scared to try them. I also hung up the big bush of leftover dill to dry.
Then we pureed whole, seeded tomatoes for freezing, froze some herbs, and canned homemade salsa.

Abram helped peel and seed the tomatoes. Four-year-old’s are so much more helpful than… any age younger than four.

Case in point: Olivia sat in a box and ate cheese.



I’ve also been baking fresh bread every few days; we haven’t purchased a single loaf of bread since we moved to South Dakota! In the midst of all this bread-baking, I’ve learned that I prefer to roll my dough into a bloomer to bake in lieu of using a pan.

And of course, I do other laborious stuff like making bone broth to freeze and kefir from our raw milk and keeping the family well-fed on a daily basis. Next up, I’d like to try canning apple pie filling and hot peppers for my pepper-loving brothers! I should add that I am a newbie canner. I’m learning as I go. But if I can do it, so can you!

8 thoughts on “Scenes from the Kitchen

    • bone broth is ridiculously easy to make, super economical, and very beneficial for your health! after you roast a chicken, pick the meat off the carcass and put the bones into a crockpot with a quartered onion, several washed carrots, and a couple stocks of celery. cover with filtered water so the water is an inch above the carcass. add two tablespoons of apple cider vinegar (i use braggs). cook on low for 24 hours. i add a bunch of fresh parsley in the last 15 minutes. when it’s all done cookin’, strain the broth into a large bowl and cool in the fridge. then portion it into 1-2 cup servings, pour it into freezer quart bags, and voila! bone broth at the ready. you use it just as you would chicken stock/broth, but you have to add salt. you can also drink bone broth straight, fresh or defrosted and warmed.

      • Ok, that is what I thought. I do the same thing and then freeze it in ice cube trays (for all of those recipes that require 1/2 cup of broth; an ice cube is 1 oz)…I had just never heard it called bone broth. 🙂

  1. Love this! I have a picture similar to yours of my two girls each sitting in a laundry basket in the kitchen while I prepare supper in the field. Have you read any of Joel Salatins other books? I just read Folks this aint Normal too. Happy canning!

    • i haven’t read any other books by salatin, but i’d like to get my hands on “you can farm.” it looks really informative! i reeeeally wish i could go back in time and be an intern at polyface farm!

    • after your dough is finished rising, you punch it down, roll it into a rectangle, then roll it into a log. let it rise another 20-30 minutes and bake on a sheet. my bread-making book says that’s a bloomer!

Leave a Reply

