Real Pumpkin Pie

Confession: I’ve never made a pumpkin pie from scratch. At least I don’t think I have… I forget now. Anyway, I made one today, and it wasn’t a complete disaster! Hoorah! So, for your eating enjoyment, I give you: Real Pumpkin Pie (the kind from scratch).

Shortbread Pie Crust

I hate making pie crust. Hate. But Martha’s shortbread pie crust is the bomb–it’s easy, it’s tasty, it requires no rolling or fluffing about with a fork. I added a bit more flour and butter to mine, as I like a good substantial crust for my pie.

  • 1 cup + 3 Tbsp. flour (I used a combination of unbleached white, whole wheat, and almond flours)
  • 6 Tbsp. butter, softened
  • 3 Tbsp. sugar (I used evaporated cane juice sugar)
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1/4 tsp. sea salt

Stir together butter and sugar. Stir in egg yolk. Stir in flour and salt. Rub with fingers until crumbles form. Press into the bottom and sides of a 9-inch pie plate.

Pumpkin Filling

I used these instructions to roast and puree my pumpkin–I also roasted the seeds! I found several recipes online for pies made with real pumpkin. I took the aspects I liked best from each, then smooshed them all together. One recipe called for 1/4 tsp. cardamom, which I had never added to my pumpkin pie before. Although I like cardamom (this cardamom rosewater milkshake is so tasty!), I did not care for it in my pie. Try it if you like.

  • 2 cups pumpkin puree
  • 1 1/2 cups raw cream (or good quality heavy cream)
  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4 cup sugar (I used 1/2 cup sucanat & 1/4 cup maple sugar)
  • 1 Tbsp. arrowroot powder
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. ginger
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp. ground cloves
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt (optional)

In a large bowl, whisk together all ingredients except pumpkin and cream. When ingredients are well-incorporated, add pumpkin and cream; whisk until blended. Pour into crust. Set pie plate on a baking sheet. Bake 15 minutes at 425 degrees, then 45-50 minutes at 350 degrees. Cool on wire rack, then in the fridge. Serve with whipped cream.

Whipped Cream

Raw cream. Oh, my. It’s thick, flavorful, and full of good things for our bodies. If you can’t get your hands on raw cream, use organic heavy whipping cream that is not ultra-pasteurized.

  • 1 cup raw cream (or good quality heavy cream)
  • 2 tbsp. sugar (I used maple sugar)
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla

Chill the bowl and beaters in the fridge. Put all ingredients in the bowl, and whip it, whip it good (anyone??) until medium to stiff peaks form.

2 thoughts on “Real Pumpkin Pie

Leave a Reply

