Satisfying Soups

roasted vegetable, bean & bacon soup

Roasted Vegetable, Bean & Bacon Soup

I found this little gem in the back of my Better Homes & Gardens Cookbook. I took the basic idea of the recipe (to roast vegetables, then add them to soup), but altered it to suit my personal tastes: eliminated parsnips and rutabaga, added bacon, more veggies, and more broth, and used the beans I had on hand. The results: delicious.

  • 2 cups potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 2 cups butternut squash, peeled and cubed
  • 4 large carrots, peeled and sliced
  • 1 medium onion, cut in wedges (or diced, if you have young children)
  • 6 slices of bacon
  • 4 cups bone broth (or chicken or vegetable broth)
  • 15 oz. can beans (I used kidney beans)
  • 3 tbsp. butter, melted
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp. black pepper
  • 1 tsp. dried thyme

1. Put potatoes, squash, and carrots in a large roasting pan, drizzle with butter, and sprinkle with sea salt, pepper, and thyme. Roast 15-20 minutes in a 450 degree oven. Meanwhile, cook bacon–I just put mine on a baking sheet in the oven with the veggies.

2. Pour broth into a large pot and bring to boil. Add beans, vegetables, and crumbled bacon. Return to boil, then reduce and simmer, covered, 10 minutes.

soup

Easy Peasy Soup

Today, I returned to “normal” eating after a bout of the stomach flu. I wanted an easy, healing, satisfying soup, and this one got the job done. I just used things I had on hand–you could make this with pretty much anything in your freezer, fridge, or pantry!

  • 3 1/2 + cups bone broth (start with 3 1/2, add more if the pasta absorbs too much liquid)
  • 15 oz. can beans (I used kidney beans. They must be my favorite.)
  • 1 cup small pasta (I used brown rice elbow)
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • 4 slices nitrite/nitrate-free salami, diced
  • 4 slices nitrite/nitrate-free smoked ham, diced
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp. black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. dried thyme
  • 1 bay leaf

In a large pot, bring broth to boil. Add all remaining ingredients. Reduce to medium-low heat and cook until pasta is tender, about 20 minutes.

One thought on “Satisfying Soups

Leave a Reply

